get a profesional website at affordable price

Kogi: PDP Suffers Another Blow As Hon Toba, Ejiba Ward Exco Defects To APC

Share This!

All is not well with the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Kogi state has top members continue to leave the party. It was another dark moment for PDP in Yagba West local government area as one of the party’s long-standing leaders, Hon. Toba Abraham defected to the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) in Ejiba on Friday.

Hon. Toba Abraham, described by many as one of most consistent and strong pillar of the PDP in Yagba West, left the party with his ward Chairman, Hon. Joseph David.

Speaking on behalf of the defectors, Hon. Toba thanked the governor of Kogi State, Alhaji Yahaya Bello for citing the largest rice mill in sub-Sahara Africa in Ejiba. He added that the mill has provided a lot of job opportunities for the teeming youth in the area and its environs.

He said they took the “very necessary but painful decision of leaving the PDP with a view to supporting the government of Alhaji Yahaya Bello who has opened his arms to all Kogians to join him in his strive to transform Kogi to a economically viable state.”

Toba acknowledged and extolled the leadership qualities of Hon. Karimi Sunday who he said was largely instrumental to their defection.

Receiving the defectors to the party, the APC Zonal Chairman, Hon. Femi Obantu expressed his delight in welcoming the people to the APC.


He described Hon. Toba as a political giant who has become a household name in Yagba West.

He congratulated the APC family in Ejiba ward and Yagba West for the development.


Hon. Tunji Aro, in his remarks, said with the mass defection of PDP members led by Hon. Toba Abraham the PDP is buried in Ejiba ward.

The Administrator of Yagba East, Hon. Abdulrasaq Ijagbemi, who was represented at the event by Chief Olu Ajakaiye, congratulated the entire APC family in Yagba federal constituency, describing Hon. Toba as a loyal and workaholic politician whose loyalty is cherished by many.

Among the dignitaries on hand to receive the defectors are Chief S. O David, LGA party chairman, Hon. Korede Alabi, Hon. Janet Fagbemi (S.A women affairs), Hon. Segun Fayomi and Ward Exco, WO2 Oluwole Samuel (rtd), Chairmen from, Odo-Eri, Igbaruku/Iyamerin, Hon. Akuma – APC LGA Treasurer, Pastor Kingsley Ikusagba and other party stalwarts from across Yagba West.

Share This!