get a profesional website at affordable price

Kogi Council Election: Gov. Bello To Present New List Of SIEC Members

Share This!

Ahead of the plan composition of State Independent Electoral Commission to herald preparation for Kogi State Local Government Election, Gov. Yahaya Bello, may have had a change of mind as he is set to replace all the earlier nominated members.

Gov. Yahaya Bello had earlier nominated an eight man Electoral Commission, whose screening by the state Assembly had been put on hold.

According to a source, following the protests that greeted the composition, the governor has finally agreed to drop all the names with efforts to represent a new list of SIEC Members.

Hon. Shiru Lawal was to head the Chairmanship of the earlier Electoral Commission. But with the new development, Alh. Ali Lawal Jiya , a retired permanent Secretary from lokoja LGA would likely head the SIEC if the name scales through.

The former members as announced by the governor were all alleged to be card carrying members of the ruling APC.

This development has further stall the much expected council polls schedule for the later part of the year.


There is much expectations having spent more than the three years in office by the Administrators to have them replaced with a democratically elected council’s.

Share This!